Selling a Riverfront Home on the North Fork of the St. Lucie River
Riverfront on the North Fork sits inside a state aquatic preserve, under Port St. Lucie dock rules that are tighter than most owners assume, and upstream of two drawbridges in Stuart. Buyers who boat will ask what the dock can be, how deep the water is at mean low tide and what stands between the lot and the St. Lucie Inlet. This guide shows which facts to gather, which office holds each record and how those facts move price.
Seller Answer in Brief
Before listing a home on the North Fork of the St. Lucie River in Port St. Lucie, document four things: the permit and state authorization history of the dock and seawall, a measured water depth at the end of the dock at mean low water, the bridges and speed zones on the route to the St. Lucie Inlet, and the flood zone and elevation data. The aquatic preserve rules limit what a buyer can build, so the existing dock is part of the price.
- The North Fork St. Lucie Aquatic Preserve covers about 16 miles of river from Midway Road in White City south to a line between Coconut Point and Jenkins Point, just west of the Roosevelt Bridge (Florida DEP, accessed October 2026).
- In an aquatic preserve, a private single family dock is limited to a 4 foot wide access walkway, a 160 square foot terminal platform and a reach no deeper than minus 4 feet mean low water (Rule 18-20.004(5), F.A.C.).
- Port St. Lucie Code Section 158.217(B) adds city length limits and bars a city permit until state and federal agencies with jurisdiction have approved the work.
- Port St. Lucie Code Section 101.04, adopted January 13, 2025, sets slow speed and idle speed zones at the Port St. Lucie Boulevard bridge, the Rivergate ramp and the C-24 ramp.
- Every boat leaving the North Fork for the inlet passes the Florida East Coast Railway bridge at Okeechobee Waterway mile 7.41 and the Dixie Highway drawbridge at mile 7.5 (33 CFR 117.317).
In this guide
- What the aquatic preserve designation covers on the North Fork St. Lucie River
- City, county or state: who controls each step on the North Fork shoreline
- Why a large new dock is not a given on the North Fork
- Water depth at the dock: the number buyers ask for first
- The route from the North Fork to the St. Lucie Inlet
- Speed zones on the North Fork and what they do to run time
- Seawalls, rip rap and mangroves on a North Fork lot
- The riverfront documentation sequence, step by step
- A North Fork river access fact sheet you can hand to buyers
- How river access facts change the comparable set
- Flood zones, insurance quotes and disclosure for North Fork homes
- Frequently asked questions
What the aquatic preserve designation covers on the North Fork St. Lucie River
The water behind a North Fork home is state land with its own management rules, and that fact sits under every question a buyer will ask about the dock. The Board of Trustees of the Internal Improvement Trust Fund adopted the North Fork as an aquatic preserve by resolution on March 30, 1972. Florida DEP now describes it as roughly 16 miles of river and 2,972 acres, running from Midway Road in White City south to a line between Coconut Point in Stuart and Jenkins Point in Palm City, just west of the Roosevelt Bridge (Florida DEP, North Fork St. Lucie Aquatic Preserve).
The preserve is the submerged land, not your yard. The 1984 management plan says only sovereignty submerged lands waterward of the mean high water line and ordinary high water line inside the mapped boundary are part of the preserve (North Fork St. Lucie River Aquatic Preserve Management Plan, 1984). Your house, lawn and upland pool are governed by the city or county. Everything past the mean high water line, including most of any dock, falls under state rules first.
Two details in the 1984 plan still shape how buyers and their advisors read a North Fork lot. The Trustees designated the North Fork a wilderness preserve, with the primary management objective of keeping its ecosystems in an essentially natural state. The same plan states that a large section of the preserve lies within the City of Port St. Lucie. That is why a Port St. Lucie riverfront listing has to answer state questions and city questions together.
A short note on numbers. The 1984 plan gives a surface water area of approximately 5,000 acres. The current DEP page gives 2,972 acres. The two figures come from different documents written 40 years apart, and neither is a survey of your parcel. If a buyer’s advisor raises the difference, the answer is that the preserve boundary on the official map, plus the mean high water line on your survey, decides what part of your frontage is preserve land.
DEP lists the habitats inside the preserve as freshwater tidal swamps, estuarine mangrove forests, oyster reefs, seagrass and marsh grass, with manatees, dolphins and wading birds using the river. Those resources are the reason dock rules here are stricter than on a dug canal. They also matter to buyers who want a quiet natural shoreline, which is part of what many North Fork owners are actually selling.
What the designation does not do is stop an owner from having a dock. It sets the dimensions, the siting and the number of boats. A seller who can show that the existing dock was authorized under those rules is in a stronger position than one who cannot, because the buyer is buying something that may not be replaceable at a larger size.
City, county or state: who controls each step on the North Fork shoreline
The first fact to confirm is jurisdiction, because the North Fork runs through more than one government. Much of the river frontage sits inside the City of Port St. Lucie. Farther north toward White City and along parts of the east bank, parcels may be in unincorporated St. Lucie County, and the southern end of the preserve reaches into Martin County near Stuart and Palm City. The St. Lucie County Property Appraiser record for the parcel shows the taxing district, which tells you whether the city or the county issues building permits.
Inside the city, the Building Department at Port St. Lucie City Hall, Building B, 121 S.W. Port St. Lucie Blvd., handles building permits, and its website offers a Search Permits on a Property tool that shows current and past permits for an address (City of Port St. Lucie Building Department). That lookup is the fastest way to see whether a dock, boat lift or seawall on your lot was ever permitted and closed.
The order of approvals matters as much as the offices. Port St. Lucie Code Section 158.217(B) says no permit shall be issued for a structure into a canal or waterway until it has been approved by any state or federal regulatory agency having jurisdiction (Port St. Lucie Code of Ordinances, Sec. 158.217). For a North Fork dock, that means the state authorization comes first and the city building permit second. A city permit in the file usually implies a state authorization exists somewhere. Find it.
The state side runs through Florida DEP. DEP reviews docks under the environmental resource permit rules and, because the bottom is sovereignty submerged land inside an aquatic preserve, under Chapter 18-20 of the Florida Administrative Code as well. Federal review of structures in navigable water sits with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Jacksonville District. For a single family dock, the paperwork may be a formal permit, a verified exemption or a self certification printout, depending on when it was built and how large it is.
| Seller step on the North Fork | Office or record | What to ask for |
|---|---|---|
| Confirm city or county jurisdiction | St. Lucie County Property Appraiser parcel record | Taxing district, legal description, recorded plat name |
| Dock, lift and seawall permit history (city parcels) | City of Port St. Lucie Building Department, Search Permits on a Property | Permit numbers, final inspection dates, any open or expired permits |
| Dock and lift permit history (unincorporated parcels) | St. Lucie County building permit records | Same items as above, by parcel number |
| State authorization for work over submerged land | Florida DEP, Southeast District, environmental resource permitting | Permit, exemption letter or self certification with the dock drawing |
| Federal authorization | U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Jacksonville District | Permit or general permit verification, if one was issued |
| Zoning limits on the dock and setbacks | City of Port St. Lucie Planning and Zoning, Code Chapter 158 | Confirmation of Sec. 158.217(B) and Sec. 158.202 as they apply to the lot |
| Recorded easements, plats and covenants | St. Lucie County Clerk of the Circuit Court, Official Records | Plat, deed restrictions, any riparian or access easement |
If the parcel turns out to be in unincorporated St. Lucie County or in Martin County, the city code sections in this guide will not govern the lot. The state preserve rules still will. Before relying on any city section, check the taxing district on the parcel record, and if it is not clearly inside the City of Port St. Lucie, ask the city’s Planning and Zoning Department to confirm in writing whether the parcel is within city limits. A Port St. Lucie mailing address does not settle the question, and a buyer’s attorney will want the answer from the office that holds the map.
Why a large new dock is not a given on the North Fork
A common assumption among buyers and some sellers is that any riverfront lot can add a long dock with a covered lift and room for two or three boats. On the North Fork, that assumption runs into two sets of written limits, and the smaller number wins.
The state limits come from Rule 18-20.004(5), F.A.C., which applies to docks on sovereignty submerged land in aquatic preserves. For a private residential single family dock, the main access walkway is limited to 4 feet wide. The dock may extend from shore no farther than a maximum depth of minus 4 feet mean low water. The terminal platform may be no more than 160 square feet. And no dock may extend more than 500 feet waterward of the mean or ordinary high water line or more than 20 percent of the width of the water body at that point, whichever is less (Rule 18-20.004, F.A.C.).
DEP training material adds detail that matters to a buyer picturing a bigger dock. A private residential single family dock is designed to moor no more than two boats. A marginal dock that runs parallel to a seawall counts as terminal platform, so it is held to 160 square feet in total. Boat slips with lifts may be roofed only if the roof does not overhang more than 1 foot beyond the footprint of the lift and the boat. Where the dock crosses seagrass or other resources, the walkway and platform must sit at least 5 feet above mean high water, and boats must keep at least 1 foot of clearance above the bottom resources at all times (Florida DEP, Aquatic Preserve Requirements, Single Family Docks, December 2017).
The city limits come from Port St. Lucie Code Section 158.217(B). On a canal or waterway lot, a private dock or boathouse may not protrude more than 5 feet into the waterway, and a hoist may extend no more than 10 feet beyond the dock when the waterway is at least 60 feet wide. When the waterway is 100 feet wide or more, a dock may extend the minimum distance needed to reach a water depth of minus 4 feet, measured at mean high water in the city text, subject to a list of length caps (100 feet beyond the mean high water line, and 40 feet or 20 percent of the waterway width) with the most restrictive one applying. The same section limits a boathouse in a required rear yard to 600 square feet and bars using a boat or boathouse as a residence.
| Dock element | State rule in the aquatic preserve (18‑20.004) | Port St. Lucie Code (158.217(B)) |
|---|---|---|
| Overall reach | Lesser of 500 feet or 20 percent of water body width | On waterways 100 feet or wider: most restrictive of 100 feet past mean high water, 40 feet or 20 percent of width |
| Depth endpoint | No farther than minus 4 feet mean low water | Minimum needed to reach minus 4 feet, stated at mean high water |
| Access walkway | 4 feet wide maximum | Not separately stated in this section |
| Terminal platform | 160 square feet maximum; marginal docks count in full | Not separately stated in this section |
| Boats | Designed to moor no more than two boats | No residence use of a boat or boathouse |
| Roofs and boathouses | Lift roofs only, no more than 1 foot of overhang | Boathouse in required rear yard limited to 600 square feet |
| Approval order | State authorization over submerged land | No city permit until state and federal approval |
Note the datum difference. The state rule measures the minus 4 foot endpoint at mean low water. The city text states mean high water. The two are not the same depth, and a surveyor or marine permitting consultant should reconcile them for your specific frontage. The practical effect for a seller is simple: the state measure is the stricter one at low tide, and it is the one a buyer’s consultant will use first.
Here is how the rules play out on paper, as an illustration only. Suppose a North Fork lot faces a reach where the river is 300 feet wide from mean high water line to mean high water line. Twenty percent of that width is 60 feet. If the bottom reaches minus 4 feet mean low water 35 feet out, the state rule stops the dock at about 35 feet. The city cap would also bind at 40 feet. A buyer imagining a 120 foot dock out to deeper water would not get it under either rule. Assumptions: width and depth are hypothetical, and an actual design depends on a survey, seagrass mapping and agency review.
For a seller, this cuts both ways. A permitted dock that already reaches workable depth, with a lift and a terminal platform near the 160 square foot limit, is close to the most a buyer could build. That is value you should document and price. A lot with no dock, or a dock that predates current rules and may not be rebuildable at its present size, needs a different conversation, and the listing should not imply that a buyer can add whatever they like.
Water depth at the dock: the number buyers ask for first
Buyers who own boats will ask how deep the water is at the end of the dock. There is no public table that answers that for an individual North Fork lot. The honest answer is a measured one, taken at a stated tide datum, by someone qualified to take it.
Depth matters on this river for three reasons tied to the rules above. First, the state dock rule caps the dock at minus 4 feet mean low water, so the depth at the end of the existing dock tells a buyer whether the dock already reaches the deepest point it could legally reach. Second, the DEP guidance requires at least 1 foot of clearance between the bottom of the boat and submerged vegetation or other resources at all times, including in the mooring area, turning basin and access channel. Third, a buyer’s insurer and lender may ask about the lift and dock condition, and a survey drawing gives them a fixed reference.
What to commission: a bathymetric or spot elevation survey of the water in front of the dock, referenced to mean low water, that shows the mean high water line, the dock footprint, the lift location and depths at the terminal platform and along the likely approach. Ask the surveyor to note any seagrass or oyster areas they observe and to state the date and tide stage of the measurements. A marine contractor’s sounding with a weighted line is better than nothing, but it is not a survey, and the listing should say which one you have.
Do not round up. If the survey shows 3.2 feet at mean low water at the platform, say 3.2 feet at mean low water. A buyer with a boat that draws 3 feet will understand that number and the 1 foot clearance rule. A buyer who was told “deep water” and then reads a different figure in the inspection period has a reason to renegotiate or leave.
Depth also changes along the river and toward the shore. NOAA’s United States Coast Pilot 4 (Chapter 10, October 4, 2026 edition) describes the North Fork as extending several miles north-northwest from its split with the South Fork west of Stuart, “about 0.75 mile wide with an even bottom of 10 to 12 feet in depth” (NOAA, U.S. Coast Pilot 4, Chapter 10). That is a description of the open lower river, not the depth at a private dock close to the bank, and it says nothing about the narrower reaches upstream toward Five Mile Creek and Ten Mile Creek. Use it to explain the river to a buyer; use your own survey for the number on the fact sheet. Where the official chart covers your reach, ask the surveyor to compare the charted soundings with the measured depths and note any difference.
The tide component is modest on the North Fork compared with the inlet, but it is real, and it is the reason the mean low water datum exists. Wind, rainfall and releases through the canals that feed the river can also move the water level for days at a time. A single sounding on a high water afternoon proves little. A survey tied to the datum proves a lot.
The route from the North Fork to the St. Lucie Inlet
Every North Fork boat that heads for the ocean follows the same route: south down the North Fork, past the Roosevelt Bridge area in Stuart, east along the St. Lucie River past Sewall’s Point and out through the St. Lucie Inlet. What varies from lot to lot is which bridges sit between the dock and the main river, and how long the trip takes at the posted speeds.
On the North Fork itself, the main road crossings inside or near Port St. Lucie include Midway Road (County Road 712) at the north end of the preserve, Prima Vista Boulevard, Port St. Lucie Boulevard (State Road 716) and the Crosstown Parkway bridge. Bridge inventory data lists the Prima Vista Boulevard crossing as a concrete slab bridge built in 1994 (BridgeLookup, Prima Vista Blvd. over the North Fork, secondary source). For a seller, the key question is whether the lot is upstream or downstream of a low fixed bridge, because a fixed bridge sets a hard limit on a boat’s height above the waterline.
Downstream in Stuart, the route passes two movable bridges that every North Fork boat must clear. The Florida East Coast Railway bridge at Okeechobee Waterway mile 7.41 is maintained in the fully open position except when it is closed for trains, inspections or authorized repairs; between 6 a.m. and 8 p.m. a bridge tender is on duty. The SR 707 Dixie Highway bridge at mile 7.5 opens on signal, but it need not open while the railroad bridge is closed (33 CFR 117.317).
The railroad bridge is changing. On August 18, 2026, Congressman Brian Mast’s office reported a $78.9 million grant to the City of Stuart to replace the century old railroad bridge over the St. Lucie River, with vertical clearance rising from 6.5 feet to about 17.75 feet at mean high water and horizontal clearance from 50 feet to roughly 90 feet (Office of Rep. Brian Mast, August 18, 2026). No construction schedule was given. For the existing span, NOAA’s Coast Pilot lists a closed vertical clearance of 6 feet at center; that charted figure, not the press release figure, is the one to put on a fact sheet. A seller can mention the funded replacement as a public fact, but should not suggest a completion date.
| Crossing on the route | Type | Clearance or operation | Source status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Midway Road (CR 712) over the North Fork | Fixed | Not published in NOAA’s Coast Pilot; read it from the current NOAA chart or ask FDOT or St. Lucie County before quoting a height | Northern limit of the preserve per DEP |
| Prima Vista Boulevard | Fixed, concrete slab (1994) | Not published in NOAA’s Coast Pilot; confirm on the current NOAA chart or with the bridge owner | Secondary bridge inventory |
| Port St. Lucie Boulevard (SR 716) | Fixed | Not published in NOAA’s Coast Pilot; confirm with FDOT or on the current NOAA chart; slow speed zone 300 feet north and south | Port St. Lucie Code 101.04 |
| Crosstown Parkway | Fixed | Not published in NOAA’s Coast Pilot; confirm with the City of Port St. Lucie or on the current NOAA chart | Owner’s design or as built data |
| US 1 Roosevelt Bridge, Stuart | Fixed, high level | Fixed span with a clearance of 65 feet | NOAA Coast Pilot 4, Ch. 10, 2026 |
| Florida East Coast Railroad bridge, mile 7.41 | Bascule | Normally open, closes for trains; Coast Pilot lists 6 feet vertical and 46 feet horizontal clearance at center when closed | 33 CFR 117.317; NOAA Coast Pilot 4, Ch. 10, 2026 |
| SR 707 Dixie Highway (Old Roosevelt), mile 7.5 | Bascule | Opens on signal unless the rail bridge is closed; Coast Pilot lists 14 feet at center when closed | 33 CFR 117.317; NOAA Coast Pilot 4, Ch. 10, 2026 |
| State Route A1A bridge (Evans Crary Bridge), Stuart to Sewall’s Point, about 3 miles above the Intracoastal junction | Fixed | Fixed span with a clearance of 65 feet | NOAA Coast Pilot 4, Ch. 10, 2026 |
Distance is the other number buyers ask for. NOAA measures the Okeechobee Waterway westward in statute miles from Mile 0.0 at its junction with the Intracoastal Waterway in St. Lucie Inlet, which places the Stuart drawbridges at miles 7.41 and 7.5 and the start of the South Fork at Mile 7.7 (NOAA, U.S. Coast Pilot 4, Chapter 12, October 4, 2026 edition; 33 CFR 117.317). Every North Fork home therefore sits about 7.5 statute miles plus its own distance down the North Fork from that junction. The second part is the one that differs, because North Fork lots spread across about 16 miles of river, and two homes in Port St. Lucie can differ by many miles of running distance. For the listing, have a licensed captain or marine surveyor measure the channel distance from your dock to the Stuart bridges on the current NOAA chart, add the 7.5 miles, and state the method. Then list the length of each speed zone on that route.
Write the bridge facts in terms of the boat. “Fixed bridge downstream at Port St. Lucie Boulevard” means little to a buyer. “A center console with a T-top that needs X feet of air draft clears every fixed bridge on the route at mean high water” means a lot, once X is verified. Sailboat owners will cross most North Fork homes off their list quickly, and that is useful to know before you set a price that assumes they are in the buyer pool.
Speed zones on the North Fork and what they do to run time
Speed zones decide how long the run to the inlet really takes, and on the North Fork there are two layers of them. The state layer is the St. Lucie County manatee protection rule. The city layer is Port St. Lucie Code Chapter 101.
Under Rule 68C-22.008, F.A.C., much of the North Fork in St. Lucie County is a year round slow speed zone within 600 feet of the general contour of each shoreline, with named exceptions and additions for Blakeslee Creek, Howard Creek, Kitching Cove, the C-24 Diversion Canal and the waters around its confluence with the river. All other navigable side creeks and canals not otherwise designated are also slow speed. The rule sets a maximum 25 miles per hour zone on the North Fork, Five Mile Creek and Ten Mile Creek north of Port St. Lucie Boulevard, and a maximum 30 miles per hour zone from Greenridge Point to Port St. Lucie Boulevard (Rule 68C-22.008, F.A.C.). The rule’s zone maps are dated July 1994, so check the posted signs and the current FWC maps for the exact boundaries in front of your lot.
The city layer is narrower and very local. Port St. Lucie Code Section 101.04, adopted by Ordinance 24-83 on January 13, 2025, creates a slow speed, minimum wake zone 300 feet north and south of the Port St. Lucie Boulevard bridge over the North Fork and 300 feet in any direction of the SE Southbend Boulevard bridge. It creates idle speed, no wake zones 500 feet north and south of the canoe and kayak launch at The Port District, and 300 feet in any direction of the Veterans Park at Rivergate boat ramp and the C-24 Canal Park boat ramp (Port St. Lucie Code of Ordinances, Sec. 101.04).
Section 101.03 also says something sellers rarely notice: in a no wake zone, a wave higher than 12 inches from trough to crest is prima facie evidence of an excessive or damaging wake. For an owner whose dock sits near a ramp or bridge zone, that is part of why the dock may see less wake damage than a dock on an open stretch. It is a fair, factual point to include in the fact sheet.
For the listing, translate the zones into a plain description of the run: how much of the route from your dock is slow speed, where the faster sections begin and the drawbridges downstream. Avoid quoting a single “minutes to the inlet” figure unless you have timed it under stated conditions. Run time depends on the boat, the tide, the bridge openings and traffic at the ramps on a Saturday morning.
Buyers also ask about public ramps when they own a second boat or have guests who trailer in. The Rivergate ramp at Veterans Park and the C-24 Canal Park ramp are both named in the city code, which makes them reliable reference points for a listing description.
Seawalls, rip rap and mangroves on a North Fork lot
The shoreline itself is a pricing item on the North Fork, and Port St. Lucie’s code has a clear order of preference that a buyer’s contractor will know. Section 157.24 says no shoreline protection structure may be built without a city permit, and that any federal, state or regional permits must be submitted to the city before the city permit issues (Port St. Lucie Code of Ordinances, Sec. 157.24).
The same section sets the priority for stabilization. Shorelines that are not already hardened, or that have failed or damaged seawalls, are to use native wetland shoreline vegetation. If that is not technically feasible, the next step is geotextiles or geogrids with native vegetation, then rock rip rap with native vegetation. Only when replacing a failed seawall with vegetation or vegetated rip rap is not technically feasible does the code permit a seawall or bulkhead. The code also prohibits protection structures that interfere with normal littoral processes or affect coastal natural resources.
That order changes how a buyer should value a failing wall. A seller may assume a buyer can simply replace an old seawall in kind. Under Section 157.24, the buyer may be asked to show why a vegetated or rip rap solution will not work before a new wall is approved. A seawall in good condition with permit history is therefore worth documenting carefully, and a wall in poor condition is a disclosure and pricing question, not a cosmetic one.
Mangroves add another layer. The 1984 management plan says pruning of mangroves shall only be permitted for access from the mean high water line to a dock or pier, and that destructive clearing of mangroves on sovereignty lands is strictly prohibited. Port St. Lucie Code Section 157.05 allows docks, piers, walkways and open boat shelters in wetland and buffer zones under other code provisions and state permitting, and requires that mangrove trimming follow the state Mangrove Trimming and Preservation Act. Any past trimming beyond an access path is something a buyer’s survey or inspector may notice. Keep the trimming permits or contractor records if you have them.
Setbacks are the last shoreline item. Port St. Lucie Code Section 158.202 says no building or structure in a single family zoning district may be built closer than 50 feet to the mean high water line of a natural and public body of water, with an exception for boat docks, boardwalks and marina structures. The section lists lots that must meet it, including lots in River Vista Subdivision, The Point Subdivision, Kitching Cove Estates, Vikings Landing, Vikings Lookout, Portage Cove, Braemar Estates, Ballantrae Estates and Floresta Pines II, along with numbered blocks in Sections 3, 10 and 26 (Port St. Lucie Code of Ordinances, Sec. 158.202). A buyer who plans a pool extension, cabana or addition toward the river will run into this line, and a seller whose survey shows it can answer the question before it is asked.
One more estate lot detail. In the Estate Residential (RE) zoning district, Section 158.071 lists a private dock without a principal structure as a special exception that requires City Council approval, and that dock may not have water or electrical service until the house is built. This rarely applies to a finished home, but it matters if you are selling a vacant riverfront lot next to your house, or splitting a larger parcel.
The riverfront documentation sequence, step by step
The order below follows the way the records depend on each other. Each step either confirms the next one or tells you it will be a problem. It reflects the published rules and the offices named above, and it is the same sequence a careful pre-listing plan for a North Fork home would use.
Pull the parcel record and confirm jurisdiction
Print the St. Lucie County Property Appraiser record. Note the parcel number, legal description, subdivision and taxing district. If the parcel is in the City of Port St. Lucie, the city code sections in this guide apply. If not, list the county or Martin County office instead.
Search the permit history
Use the City of Port St. Lucie Building Department’s Search Permits on a Property tool, or the county equivalent. List every permit for the dock, lift, seawall, rip rap, boathouse, shoreline electrical work and any pool or addition near the water. Note which ones show a final inspection and which do not.
Find the state and federal paperwork
Because the city will not issue a waterway permit without prior state and federal approval under Section 158.217(B), a closed city dock permit usually points to a DEP authorization. Look in your closing file, ask the contractor who built the dock, or request the record from DEP. Ask the Army Corps for any verification letter if one was issued.
Order a current survey that shows the water
Ask a licensed surveyor for a boundary survey that shows the mean high water line, the dock and lift footprint, the seawall or rip rap and, if possible, spot depths referenced to mean low water at the terminal platform and approach. Ask the surveyor to note the Section 158.202 setback line if the lot is on the city’s list.
Measure the dock against the preserve rules
Compare the surveyed walkway width, terminal platform area, overall length and depth endpoint with Rule 18-20.004(5). If the dock is larger than current limits, find the date it was built and any authorization. A marine permitting consultant can say whether it would likely be rebuildable at its current size after storm damage.
Document the route and the boat it suits
List the fixed bridges between your dock and the main river, the drawbridges at Okeechobee Waterway miles 7.41 and 7.5, the speed zones on the route and the verified channel distance to the St. Lucie Inlet. State the largest air draft and draft that the route and your depth support, once verified.
Assemble flood, elevation and insurance data
Add the FEMA flood zone, any elevation certificate, the flood insurance policy declarations page and claim history, and the condition reports for lift motors and dock electrical. Then set the price with all of it in front of you.
Gaps found during this sequence are easier to handle before listing than during a buyer’s inspection period. An expired dock permit, for example, can sometimes be closed out with a final inspection. The site has separate guides on open permits in Port St. Lucie and on unpermitted work in a Port St. Lucie home sale that cover those steps in more detail.
A North Fork river access fact sheet you can hand to buyers
The output of the sequence above is one page that a buyer’s agent, insurer and marine contractor can read in two minutes. The template below lists what belongs on it for a North Fork home, where each item comes from, and what to write if the item is not yet known. Fill it with verified entries only.
| Fact sheet item | Source | How to state it |
|---|---|---|
| Water body and preserve status | Florida DEP preserve page and boundary map | “Frontage on the North Fork of the St. Lucie River, within the North Fork St. Lucie Aquatic Preserve” |
| Jurisdiction | St. Lucie County Property Appraiser | City of Port St. Lucie, unincorporated St. Lucie County or Martin County |
| River frontage | Survey | Linear feet at the mean high water line |
| River width in front of the lot | Survey or aerial measurement | Feet, mean high water line to mean high water line, with method stated |
| Dock dimensions | Survey and permit drawings | Walkway width, terminal platform square feet, overall length |
| Depth at terminal platform | Survey referenced to mean low water | Feet at mean low water, date measured |
| Lift and roof | Permit records, manufacturer plate | Lift capacity in pounds, roof dimensions, last service date |
| State authorization | DEP permit, exemption letter or self certification | Document type and number, date |
| City or county permits | Building Department permit search | Permit numbers and final inspection dates |
| Shoreline type and condition | Survey, contractor report | Seawall, rip rap or natural shoreline; age and condition notes |
| Fixed bridges on the route | Official chart or bridge data | Name and verified vertical clearance of each |
| Drawbridges | 33 CFR 117.317 | FEC railway bridge mile 7.41, SR 707 Dixie Highway mile 7.5, operating rules |
| Speed zones on the route | Rule 68C-22.008; Port St. Lucie Code 101.04 | Slow speed sections and maximum speed sections, by name |
| Distance to St. Lucie Inlet | Chart measurement | Statute miles along the channel, method stated |
| Flood zone and elevation | FEMA map, elevation certificate | Zone, base flood elevation, lowest floor elevation |
| Setback line | Port St. Lucie Code 158.202; survey | Whether the lot is on the 50 foot setback list |
Two cautions on wording. Do not describe the river as “deep water” or the dock as “able to hold any boat.” Both are claims a buyer can test, and the preserve rules plus your survey will answer them precisely. And do not describe what a buyer “can build.” Describe what exists, what was authorized and what the published limits are, then let the buyer’s consultant draw conclusions.
Bilingual buyers and out of area buyers both benefit from a fact sheet that uses plain units and names each office. A buyer reading from another state cannot drive by the Port St. Lucie Boulevard bridge to look at it, but they can read that it is a fixed bridge with a posted slow speed zone 300 feet on each side.
How river access facts change the comparable set
Two homes on the North Fork with the same square footage can belong in different price groups because of what sits at the water’s edge. The access facts above are the variables that sort them. Pricing a North Fork home starts by choosing comparable sales that share those variables, not just the same river.
This guide does not quote North Fork sales counts, median prices or days on market. Recorded sales in St. Lucie County could not be queried for it, and days on market, list prices and price reductions exist only in the MLS. Ask the listing agent for an authorized MLS export of closed sales of single family homes with direct North Fork frontage inside the City of Port St. Lucie over the last 24 months, split into four groups: a permitted dock with a lift and documented depth, a dock without a lift or without documented authorization, no dock, and lots upstream versus downstream of Port St. Lucie Boulevard. For each group, ask for the number of sales, the median sale price and price per square foot, median days on market and how many sales followed a price reduction. The count tells you whether the group can be priced from at all; the price gap between groups is the market’s own figure for a documented dock and a lift; and days on market with reductions show what happened to sellers who priced a lot as if it belonged in a better group. Ask the agent to cross check the closed prices against the St. Lucie County Property Appraiser’s qualified sales.
How the figures are used: the group that matches your home sets the starting range. Differences between groups show the market’s price for a documented dock, a lift and location along the route. If the export holds too few sales in a group to be meaningful, the sample size is shown and the analysis widens the period or uses canal homes with river access as a secondary reference, labeled as such. The guide to the top of the Port St. Lucie housing market explains how the city’s top tier is defined from measured data.
Two adjustments are specific to the North Fork. First, a dock that already approaches the 160 square foot terminal platform limit and minus 4 feet mean low water endpoint is close to the most a buyer could permit, so its contribution to value is less likely to be discounted as “something the buyer could add.” Second, a home where the route requires low air draft, because of a low fixed bridge downstream, competes for a smaller group of boat owners, and the price should reflect who can actually use the dock.
Condition belongs in the same calculation. A lift with a failing motor, a dock with soft decking or a seawall with visible cracks will show up in the buyer’s inspection and in the marine contractor’s quote. Pricing that ignores them tends to end in a renegotiation. Pricing that accounts for them, or a seller who repairs them under permit before listing, removes a reason for the buyer to come back to the table.
Listings that start with the wrong comparable set often sit. The guide to selling a $2 million home in Port St. Lucie covers pricing at the upper end of the city market more broadly, and the waterfront luxury homes guide covers seawall and submerged land issues across several markets.
Flood zones, insurance quotes and disclosure for North Fork homes
Riverfront buyers on the North Fork will ask for the flood zone, the elevation certificate and the current flood insurance premium early, often before they schedule a second showing. The preserve itself includes flood plain and freshwater tidal swamp habitat according to DEP, and many lots along the river sit at least partly in a FEMA special flood hazard area. The exact zone for your parcel comes from the effective FEMA Flood Insurance Rate Map for St. Lucie County, available through the FEMA Flood Map Service Center.
An elevation certificate is the single most useful flood document for a North Fork listing. It states the lowest floor elevation relative to base flood elevation, which a buyer’s insurance agent needs to quote. If you do not have one, a licensed surveyor can prepare it, and it can be done in the same visit as the boundary and depth survey described above. The site’s guides on Port St. Lucie flood zones and flood insurance in Port St. Lucie explain how zones and premiums interact.
Disclosure has a state form requirement that applies here like anywhere else in the state, but the content of a North Fork disclosure is local. A seller should be ready to answer whether the home has had flood damage or flood insurance claims, whether the dock or seawall was repaired after a storm and under which permit, and whether any work over the water was done without state authorization. The site’s guide on flood disclosure for home sellers covers the current form and timing. A real estate attorney should review disclosure language for any unresolved permit or flood history.
Insurance timing affects the contract. A buyer who cannot get a flood or wind quote within the inspection period may ask for an extension or walk away. Handing the buyer’s agent the elevation certificate, the current declarations page and the roof and opening protection reports on the first day of the contract shortens that step. It also signals that the rest of the file, including the dock paperwork, is in order.
Last, keep the river records with the house. Permits, DEP letters, surveys, lift manuals and the fact sheet should transfer to the buyer at closing. The next owner will need them for their own insurance and any future repair, and a buyer who knows they are getting a complete file is a buyer who is less likely to discount for the unknown.
What Sellers Say About Working With Jeannie Jacobson
These reviews do not name a North Fork property. They come from sellers whose listings had stalled or who wanted a faster sale, which is the situation a mispriced riverfront listing can end up in.
“We were miserable. Stuck in FL. Desperately trying to sell our house. We were with another realtor for 6 months with no activity. Once that was up, we met with Jeannie and explained to her the desperation of our situation and she had the house sold in 5 days…”
Andrew, Google review
“Jeanie was an excellent choice for my relator. She was professional, punctual and really worked hard to get my property sold. It sold in record time…”
Tina Shaw, Google review
This guide is general information about selling a home on the North Fork of the St. Lucie River. It is not legal, tax, engineering, surveying or financial advice. Dock, seawall and speed zone rules, exemption thresholds and bridge operations change, and agency interpretations vary by site. Confirm current requirements with Florida DEP, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, the City of Port St. Lucie or St. Lucie County, and consult a marine permitting consultant, licensed surveyor and real estate attorney about your property.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. It sets limits. Under Rule 18-20.004(5), F.A.C., a private single family dock in the preserve may have a walkway up to 4 feet wide and a terminal platform up to 160 square feet, may reach no deeper than minus 4 feet mean low water and may extend no more than 20 percent of the river width or 500 feet, whichever is less. DEP guidance describes it as designed for no more than two boats. An existing authorized dock that already meets those limits is close to the most a buyer could build.
Usually not by much. The state preserve rule and Port St. Lucie Code Section 158.217(B) both cap length, and the city text applies the most restrictive of its caps on waterways 100 feet or wider. A dock built before current rules may also face limits if it has to be rebuilt after storm damage. A marine permitting consultant can review your specific dock. In the listing, describe what exists and what was authorized rather than what a buyer might add.
For parcels inside the city, the City of Port St. Lucie Building Department issues the building permit, but Code Section 158.217(B) says it will not issue one for a structure into a waterway until state and federal agencies with jurisdiction have approved it. That means Florida DEP review first, plus the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers where required. Parcels in unincorporated St. Lucie County or Martin County go through those county building offices instead.
There is no single answer, because depth varies along about 16 miles of river and from lot to lot. The useful figure is the depth at the end of your dock, measured by a surveyor and referenced to mean low water, with the date. Buyers compare it with their boat’s draft and with the DEP guidance requiring at least 1 foot of clearance above bottom resources at all times. Avoid general phrases such as “deep water” in the listing.
Two in Stuart. The Florida East Coast Railway bridge at Okeechobee Waterway mile 7.41 stays open except when closed for trains, inspections or repairs, and the SR 707 Dixie Highway bridge at mile 7.5 opens on signal but need not open while the rail bridge is closed, under 33 CFR 117.317. In August 2026 the City of Stuart received a $78.9 million grant to replace the rail bridge with a higher span, with no completion date announced.
It depends on where the home sits along the river, which runs about 16 miles from Midway Road to the Roosevelt Bridge area before the route continues east past Sewall’s Point to the inlet. The figure for a listing should be measured along the channel on the official chart from your dock, in statute miles, with the method stated. Add the length of slow speed sections so a buyer can estimate run time for their own boat.
Rule 68C-22.008, F.A.C., makes much of the river a year round slow speed zone within 600 feet of each shoreline, with a 25 mile per hour maximum north of Port St. Lucie Boulevard and 30 miles per hour from Greenridge Point to Port St. Lucie Boulevard in the channel. City Code Section 101.04 adds slow speed zones at the Port St. Lucie Boulevard and SE Southbend Boulevard bridges and idle speed zones at The Port District launch and the Rivergate and C-24 ramps.
Possibly, but Port St. Lucie Code Section 157.24 sets an order of preference: native wetland vegetation first, then geotextiles or geogrids with vegetation, then rock rip rap with vegetation, and a seawall or bulkhead only when those are not technically feasible. Other agency permits must reach the city before the city permit issues. A buyer’s contractor will know this, so a wall in poor condition should be priced or repaired under permit, not described as a quick replacement.
It changes which sales are comparable. Homes with a permitted dock and lift and a measured depth compete with each other, and homes without a dock or with unclear permits form a different group. The size of the difference on the North Fork has to be measured from an authorized MLS export for recent riverfront sales. Without that, no fair dollar figure can be given, and this guide does not estimate one.
Port St. Lucie Code Section 158.202 sets a 50 foot setback from the mean high water line of a natural and public body of water for buildings and structures in single family districts, with an exception for docks and boardwalks. It lists lots in subdivisions such as River Vista, Kitching Cove Estates, Vikings Landing, Vikings Lookout, Portage Cove, Braemar Estates, Ballantrae Estates and Floresta Pines II, and says the list is not exhaustive. Your survey should show the line.
Start with the river file, then set the price
Pull the permit history, order a survey that shows depth at mean low water and the mean high water line, and write down the bridges and speed zones between your dock and the St. Lucie Inlet. With those facts on one page, the pricing conversation for a North Fork home becomes specific. Jeannie Jacobson provides a written pricing analysis and a pre-listing plan for owners across Port St. Lucie and the Treasure Coast.
Contact Jeannie about your North Fork home
Jeannie Jacobson, REALTOR®, RE/MAX Gold, (772) 877-0268, English and Spanish
Sources
- North Fork, St. Lucie Aquatic Preserve, Florida Department of Environmental Protection, https://floridaaquaticpreserves.org/managed-areas/aquatic-preserves/north-fork-st-lucie-aquatic-preserve (accessed October 2026)
- North Fork St. Lucie River Aquatic Preserve Management Plan, adopted May 22, 1984, Board of Trustees of the Internal Improvement Trust Fund, via GovInfo, https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CZIC-qh90-75-f6-g57-1984/html/CZIC-qh90-75-f6-g57-1984.htm (accessed October 2026)
- Rule 18-20.004, F.A.C., Management Policies, Standards, and Criteria (aquatic preserves), effective March 25, 2019, https://www.law.cornell.edu/regulations/florida/Fla-Admin-Code-Ann-R-18-20-004 and https://www.flrules.org/gateway/ruleNo.asp?id=18-20.004 (accessed October 2026)
- Aquatic Preserve Requirements, Single-Family Docks, Florida DEP, December 13, 2017, https://floridadep.gov/sites/default/files/WUD_AquaticsPreservesReq.pdf (accessed October 2026)
- Common Dock Non-Compliance, Florida DEP South District, December 2017, https://floridadep.gov/sites/default/files/WUD_CommonNonCompDockIssues.pdf (accessed October 2026)
- City of Port St. Lucie Code of Ordinances, Secs. 101.01 to 101.04, 157.05, 157.24, 158.071, 158.202 and 158.217, Supplement 103, codified through Ordinance 26-13, Municode, https://library.municode.com/fl/port_st._lucie/codes/code_of_ordinances (accessed October 2026)
- Building Department, City of Port St. Lucie, https://www.cityofpsl.com/government/departments/building (accessed October 2026)
- Rule 68C-22.008, F.A.C., St. Lucie County Zones (manatee protection), https://www.law.cornell.edu/regulations/florida/Fla-Admin-Code-Ann-R-68C-22-008 (accessed October 2026)
- 33 CFR 117.317, Okeechobee Waterway drawbridge operations, https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/33/117.317 (accessed October 2026)
- Funded a New St. Lucie River Railroad Bridge, Office of Rep. Brian Mast, August 18, 2026, https://mast.house.gov/2026/8/funded-a-new-st-lucie-river-railroad-bridge (accessed October 2026)
- United States Coast Pilot 4, Chapter 10 (St. Lucie Inlet and St. Lucie River), NOAA Office of Coast Survey, edition dated October 4, 2026, https://nauticalcharts.noaa.gov/publications/coast-pilot/files/cp4/CPB4_C10_WEB.pdf (accessed October 2026)
- United States Coast Pilot 4, Chapter 12 (Okeechobee Waterway mileage and South Fork), NOAA Office of Coast Survey, edition dated October 4, 2026, https://nauticalcharts.noaa.gov/publications/coast-pilot/files/cp4/CPB4_C12_WEB.pdf (accessed October 2026)
- Prima Vista Blvd. over Fork of St. Lucie River, BridgeLookup (secondary, from federal bridge inventory data), https://bridgelookup.com/bridge/92734 (accessed October 2026)
- FEMA Flood Map Service Center, https://msc.fema.gov/portal/home (accessed October 2026)